Ir direto para menu de acessibilidade.
Portal do Governo Brasileiro
Início do conteúdo da página

Republic of Latvia

The links between the Brazilian and Latvian peoples precede the establishment of diplomatic relations. The Latvian colonization in Brazil began in 1890 and intensified in the early twentieth century. It is estimated that over three thousand Latvians have immigrated to Brazil, settling mainly in Santa Catarina, Rio Grande do Sul and São Paulo. The Brazilian population of Latvian origin reaches about 20 thousand – the largest Latvian community in South America and one of the largest in the world.

Brazil recognized the independence of Latvia for the first time in 1921, having reiterated it in 1991, after the dissolution of the USSR. Both countries established diplomatic relations 1992.

The official visits of the President Vaira Vike-Freiberga (2007) and Prime Minister Valdis Dombrovskis (2011) to Brazil represented milestones of the bilateral relation. In 2012, the Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics was in Brazil for the High-level Meeting of the Open Government Partnership.

In 2010, the Brazilian Minister of the Department for Ports, Pedro Brito, visited the Port of Riga. Latvia aims to be a logistical distribution hub to markets in Russia and Central Asia. This was the first visit of a high-level Brazilian authority to Latvia.

Chronology of bilateral relations

1890 – Beginning of Latvian colonization in Brazil

1921 – Brazil recognizes the independence of Latvia

1991 – Brazil recognizes the independence of Latvia once again, after dissolution of URSS

1992 – Brazil and Latvia established diplomatic relations

2007 – Presidente Vaira Vike-Freiberga visits Brazil

2010 – Minister of Secretary of Ports, Pedro Brito, visits Riga

2010 – Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Andris Teikmanis visits Brazil

2011Prime-Minister Valdis Dombrovskis visits Brazil (July 9-12)

2012 – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Edgars Rinkevics, visits Brazil

2012 - The new Visa Waiver Agreement for tourism and business between Brazil and the European Union enters in force, with the extension of the exemption to new members of the EU (Latvia, Estonia, Malta and Cyprus)

Fim do conteúdo da página