Ir direto para menu de acessibilidade.
Portal do Governo Brasileiro
Início do conteúdo da página

Twenty-one years of the CPLP

July 17, 2017 - 10:46

The Brazilian Government celebrates the twenty-first anniversary of the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP) with the Governments and peoples of the other member States of our Community.

Brazil, which holds the 2016-2018 rotating presidency of the organization, reiterates its commitment to contribute to the Community's continued important mandate of political agreement, multi-sector cooperation and the promotion and diffusion of the Portuguese language.

Today's date also marks the beginning of the preparatory meetings for the 22nd Ordinary Meeting of the Council of Ministers of the CPLP, to be held on July 20 at the Itamaraty Palace in Brasilia.

During the meeting, the CPLP Foreign Ministers will discuss the adoption of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development by their countries and will approve a resolution on the New Strategic Vision of the CPLP, a document determining the priorities that will guide the actions of the Community for the next ten years. The Ministers will also discuss the deepening of cooperation with Associate Observers of the CPLP.

Over the last twenty-one years, the CPLP has been able to consolidate itself as a platform of integration and dialogue among Portuguese language countries and between those countries and the world, and has become an international body with credibility with the international community. For Brazil, the CPLP is a valuable forum for political dialogue, offering opportunities for the development of South-South cooperation and for the continued recognition of our common language on the world stage.


The CPLP was established on July 17, 1996, and today has nine member States: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tome and Principe and Timor-Leste. The combined population of its member countries stands at approximately 270 million people.

The CPLP also has ten Associate Observers on four continents: Georgia, Hungary, Japan, Mauritius, Namibia, Slovak Republic, Czech Republic, Senegal, Turkey and Uruguay. The growing number of observers is a positive result of the CPLP's consolidation.

Brazil holds the rotating presidency of the CPLP since the organization's eleventh summit, held in Brasilia on October 31 and November 1, 2016. The theme of the current Brazilian presidency is "The CPLP and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development."

Fim do conteúdo da página