Ir direto para menu de acessibilidade.
Portal do Governo Brasileiro
Início do conteúdo da página

The India-Brazil-South Africa Dialogue Forum (IBSA) was created in June 2003

with the adoption of the Brasília Declaration. The mechanism brings together three large multi-ethnic democracies of the developing world and is based on three pillars: political coordination, sectorial cooperation and cooperation with third countries established by the IBSA Fund.

Until now, the following IBSA summits have been held:

  • 1st IBSA Summit – Brasília, September  2006; 
  • 2nd IBSA Summit – Pretoria, October 2007;
  • 3rd IBSA Summit – New Delhi, October 2008;
  • 4th IBSA Summit – Brasília, April 2010;
  • 5th IBSA Summit – Pretoria,  October 2011.

Since its inception, IBSA has consolidated a large repertoire of common positions in several themes of the international agenda, including  the reform of global governance frameworks.

IBSA has the following working groups currently in operation:

  • Working Group on Defense;
  • Working Group on Tourism;
  • Working Group on Trade and Ivestment;
  • Working Group on Blue Economy
  • Working Group on Energy.

The IBSA Fund for Poverty and Hunger Alleviation

The most outstanding initiative of IBSA, the IBSA Fund has been financing social infrastructure projects in least developed countries since 2004.

The Fund’s resources are managed by the United Nations Office for South-South Cooperation (UNOSSC) and allocated to projects on a concessional basis. To date, the IBSA Fund has granted US$ 32 million in funds for projects in several least developed countries.
Since its creation, the Fund has approved 31 projects in 19 countries of different regions and continents. Highlights among these projects include:

  • Strengthening Infrastructure and Capacity to Combat HIV/AIDS, in Bujumbura (Burundi);
  • Refurbishment of helath care  infrastructure in the cities of Covoada and Ribeira Brava (Cabo Verde);
  • Development of children and teenagers with special needs and their families (Cambodia);
  • Agricultural Development (Phase I), in Bissa, N’tatelai and Capafa (Guinea-Bissau);
  • Agricultural Development and Services in Rural Communities (Phase II), in the regions of Bafata, Oio, and Biombo (Guinea-Bissau);
  • Solid waste collection and recycling: a tool to reduce violence and conflict in Carrefour Feuilles (Phases I and II), Port-au-Prince (Haiti);
  • Leadership Development and Institutional Capacity Building for Human Development and Poverty Reduction, in Freetown (Sierra Leone);

For its successful initiatives, the IBSA Fund has earned the following awards: ‘South-South Partnership for South-South Alliance’, granted by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in 2006; the ‘Millennium Development Goals Awards’, granted in 2010 by the NGO ‘Millennium Development Goals Awards Committee’, and the ‘South-South and Triangular Cooperation Champions Awards’, given in 2012 by the United Nations Office for South-South Cooperation (UNOSSC), for its innovative contribution to the triangular South-South cooperation.


Fim do conteúdo da página